Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

EEEEEEEK I love peanut butter. I love bananas. I love baking things with bananas. And topping them with peanut butter. Especially when said peanut butter is in buttercream form.

Now, I don’t know about you, but when I was growing up peanut butter and bananas qualified as a healthy snack. I used the same logic when I invented these cupcakes. I’m using the powers of selective thinking to remind myself ONLY of the mushed bananas and organic peanut butter in this recipe, and not about the 1/2 pound of butter and 2 cups of sugar. Selective thinking really works wonders in my baking and eating life.

The usual suspects. One of these guys went STRAIGHT to my thighs. Not that I’m complaining.

9 out of 10 cupcake testers cited the frosting as the *best* part of the cupcake and also my *best* buttercream creation yet. So I will share that recipe first.

Peanut Butter Buttercream

1 stick unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup peanut butter

1 1/2 cups confectioners sugar

pinch of salt

Beat it! Until it is light and fluffy and oh-so-good.

The odd cupcake tester out (ahem…MIKE) chose the cupcake as the best part of the dessert. I believe his exact words were:

“Usually a cupcake is just a vessel for delicious frosting, but this time the frosting is a vessel for an AMAZING cupcake.”

Whatever tickles your fancy.

Here’s the recipe.

One thought on “Banana Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Buttercream

  1. Pingback: Confessions of a PeanutButteraholic « The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

