Pumpkin Scones

On Sunday, Mike and I were greeted by the smell of freshly-baked toasted coconut scones.

They were the softest, moistest, most delicious scones my taste buds had ever encountered. Usually I don’t like scones because they are too dry/ing, but these Nantucket-innkeeper-scones were the opposite of that. Skye the innkeeper – saint that she is -provided me with the recipe! You can imagine my excitement.

Obviously I baked them within 3 days and obviously I added pumpkin.

The secret? Copious amounts of heavy cream.

Heavy cream + pumpkin. Mmmmmm.

I also got to use my vintage (ahem..found for 3 dollars at a flea market) pastry cutter.

Here’s the recipe. Thanks, Skye!

Ingredients

2 cups flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, very cold

1 cup heavy cream

*For my version, I substituted 1/2 cup heavy cream for 1/2 cup canned pumpkin, and added some nutmeg and cinnamon as well)

Instructions

Mix together the dry ingredients, then add the butter using a pastry cutter (or, grate the butter in a box grater and toss it in) until it is in pea-sized crumbs. Fold in the heavy cream using a spatula until just combined. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes in a round cake pan, then cut in diagonals to serve.

Or… use a biscuit cutter (also vintage = flea market find)

Pumpkin scuffins!

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin Scones

  1. Daryl behm

    Hi! I’m looking for your coconut scone recipe – did I miss it? The photo looks yummy. I will try your Pumpkin scones. Thank you! Daryl

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Brown Sugar Blueberry Scones | The Sweet Life

Leave a comment