Pumpkin Blondies

Have I ever told you guys how I have the funnest job ever? How I get to hang out with ridiculous four-year-olds all day? And sometimes teach them things?

Yeah… I think I’ve mentioned it a time or two.

Part of the fabulousness of my job is Baking Fridays. Each Friday I gather up a few of the least snotty kiddos, allow them to dump some flour in a bowl, and sometimes, if they’re really good, hold the bowl and stir. Sometimes I try to teach them math, like 1/2 cup + 1/2 cup = 1 cup. Mostly they like sneaking chocolate chips when I’m not looking.

Because we are in the month of October, all Baking Fridays have revolved around pumpkins. Duh.

This Friday we made Pumpkin Blondies. As a general rule, I judge recipes based on how easy they are to follow when 5 pairs of teeny tiny hands are trying to steal chocolate chips behind my back. These Pumpkin Blondies score an A+ on this scale. And an A for taste and texture.

We used this recipe. As Anna, age 4, put it….

“These pumpkin blondies fill Melanie’s heart with love”

Yeah, pretty much.

Leave a Reply

