Wildlife Wednesday: Two Small Animals & One Giant Reindeer

Let me give you a little background on this week’s Wildlife Wednesday.

The day after I got my new camera, I went to a craft fair with my mom and came across a booth that had AMAZING photographs of birds, chipmunks, and squirrels. The photographer told me the key to his photos had to do with apertures and ISO numbers (neither of which I understand), but I started getting really pumped up about taking some animal pictures.

Insert CRaZY Charlestown squirrels. They are honestly the nuttiest (pun intended) squirrels I have ever seen, which is saying a lot because Cornell had at least 2 billion squirrels on campus, so I have a lot of knowledge in the field of squirrel behavior. There is a black squirrel that lives in the yard of a house that I walk past daily, and it always hops out and looks very menacing whenever I walk by, and the other day it was standing on top of a bird feeder stealing food from teeny tiny birds. Today, I went to take a picture of a squirrel in a tree and we had a 30 second stare off during which time I concluded that it was going to jump on my face so I ran away. Then I stumbled across this cute friend.

SUCCESS! My first official animal photo.

Aside: Say the word squirrel 20 times. Then think about how fitting it is for the creature it describes.

I’m rambling.

Here’s another fun thing I spotted today:

RUDOLPH! Why didn’t I think of this first?

And finally, a GREAT animal video courtesy of Fina. If you haven’t seen the original ‘Whip My Hair’ video yet, you should watch that first. This bird’s performance is truly uncanny.

Mom, I know you will probably think this song is obnoxious. But you have to at LEAST watch to 0:15 and 0:32.

Amazing.

Leave a Reply

