Toasted Coconut Almond Muffins

Lately, the weather outside has been…well, frightful. It’s been snowy, rainy, windy and freezing and has left me craving something warm and fluffy, like my cozy pink blanket. Or a muffin.

You guys KNOW how I feel about toasted coconut, and I knew I wanted those yummy little shreds to be ingredient numero uno in the muffins I was inventing.

I feel pretty similarly about toasted almonds, so I knew this would be ingredient #2.

And so, I created Toasted Coconut Almond Muffins.

They are warm and fluffy, slightly healthy, and have the perfect toasty flava to warm up your day.

Here’s the recipe!

Toasted Coconut Almond Muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened coconut flakes, toasted and cooled
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup oil
  • 1 1/4 cups milk (I used soy milk)
  • 1 teaspoon almond extract
  • handful of sliced almonds, for the tops of the muffins

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 12-cup muffin tin with cooking spray. In a large bowl, mix together dry ingredients. In a medium bowl, whisk together wet ingredients. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until just combined. Pour batter evenly into prepared muffin tin, about 1/3 – 1/2 cup batter per cup. Top with 3 or 4 almond slices. Bake for 20 minutes, then remove from oven and allow to cool in pan for 5 minutes. Remove from pan and serve warm.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

