Lemon Whoopie Pies with Lemon-Blueberry Buttercream

I’ve been attempting to avoid blueberries for the past month. I was pretending to be an elitist produce aficionado and proclaimed that I always wait to buy my berries until they are “in season” and “local”. And then they were buy one, get one at the grocery store and one of my friends posted a recipe for blueberry buttercream on my Facebook wall and… I caved.

And it’s a good thing I did! Do you know how good the combination of lemon and blueberry is? Like flip flops and popsicles on a hot summer day. Perfection.

Sweet, fluffy cakes. Tart berry frosting. We have a new *best whoopie pie ever* on our hands. I am seriously considering opening a whoopie pie store and posting a sign like this one to encourage gluttony:

From Rice to Riches in NYC!

But then I would feel badly about contributing to the obesity epidemic.

Moving on. Here’s how I made them!

Start with Martha Stewart’s lemon whoopie pie recipe. Girlfriend is a whoopie pie genius.

Get ready to make your buttercream! See recipe below.

Then, you know the drill… sandwich, sandwich, sandwich!

The key to this whoopie pie is the perfectly ripened blueberries around the outside. These pies would be super yum on their own, but the pop of fresh blueberry juice in each bite seals the deal. Trust me. Don’t skimp on the berries. I won’t even judge you for buying them out-of-season 😉

Lemon-Blueberry Buttercream (adapted from My Baking Addiction)

1/2 cup fresh blueberries

1 tablespoon lemon zest

1 tablespoon lemon juice

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1 pound confectioners sugar, sifted

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

pinch of salt

1-2 tablespoons milk, as needed

Puree blueberries, lemon zest, and lemon juice; set aside. In a separate bowl, beat butter until fluffy. Add confectioner’s sugar, and beat until combined. Add vanilla extract and salt. Then add the blueberry puree and beat until frosting reaches desired consistency. Pour in one to two tablespoons of milk if needed, and beat to combine.

4 thoughts on “Lemon Whoopie Pies with Lemon-Blueberry Buttercream

  1. kaitlintorp

    Also an exciting combination of blueberry and lemon: blueberry vodka and lemonade! Very refreshing and very Nantucket 🙂

    Reply
  2. adrienne

    if you had a whoopie pie store i would go always. its probably better for my health that you don’t.

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Maple Pecan Praline Blondies « The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

