Sweet Cupcakes

I am sort of kiiind of having a love affair with Sweet Cupcakes in Boston. They undeniably have the BEST frosting in town, potentially ever, and I.am.obsessed. What other bakery offers “frosting shots” on their menu? Genius. Frosting of the gods. Get in my belly NOW.

So the other day I’m at Sweet with the girl I babysit, because my summer job is hard, and we are eating five different cupcakes and then going back to get seconds and I am peeing my pants for the 80th time about how good the frosting is…and the Frosting Gods intervene. Our convo went something like this:

Frosting Gods: You should find out the frosting recipe so you can recreate it at home and eat chocolate buttercream for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!

Me: No way. That recipe is TOP SECRET.

Frosting Gods: How do you know? Just aaaaask.

Me: Because it tastes like it is made of actual clouds from heaven. That’s how I know.

Frosting Gods: Just aaaaaaaask. Maybe they’ll give you a hint!

[note: the “Frosting Gods” may or may not be my alter ego.]

So I ask. And what do the wonderful people at Sweet hand me????

This.

Just the frosting and cupcake bible.** No big.

OBVI I ran home and immediately made chocolate cupcakes with two different buttercreams: chocolate and cookies ‘n cream.

And do you know what? The frosting was spot-on-perfect. I will even share a recipe with you as long as you promise to go out and buy the cookbook to get the cupcake recipe to pair it with 😉 Or just come visit me and I will feed you. I will probs be making these cupcakes daily until I decide to give up my apartment and just live inside Sweet.

Chocolate Buttercream Frosting (adapted from The Sweet Little Book of Cupcakes)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup trans fat-free vegetable shortening*
  • 1 3/4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract

*Make sure you use good, fresh shortening. I used Crisco I’d had for awhile the first time, and I could totally taste the shortening in the buttercream. I used an organic shortening from Whole Foods the second time around and it worked perfectly!

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, beat the butter and shortening on medium speed until creamy.
  2. In a separate bowl, sift the powdered sugar and cocoa powder together.
  3. Add the powdered sugar and cocoa powder to the butter mixture on low speed until it begins to incorporate.
  4. Add the vanilla, and beat at medium to high speed until fully incorporated (about 1 minute).

**I apologize for all the religious references. It really is that good.

3 thoughts on “Sweet Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Sweet’s Vanilla Bean Cupcakes | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

