One if by land..

It’s a widely known fact that I impulse-buy like its my job. It’s also a widely known fact that Ikea is a Disneyland for impulse-shoppers. 85 tealights for $2? Need. 17 jars of various shapes and sizes? Want. $3 lantern? Must have. 200 mystery “Swedish”meatballs? Gimme.

Which is why it’s good that Ikea is far away and not across the street. Like Trader Joe’s. The Disneyland of impulse-food-shopping. But that’s another story.

The other day I went to the Ikea with the intent of “just looking”. As. If.

After about 5 minutes of self-restraint I stumbled upon this lantern and had to have it RIGHT NOW THIS MINUTE.

I pranced around with my lantern for a few moments before realizing that I had no place to put it. It’s not like you can use a tea light lantern as like.. a reading lamp in your bedroom (unless you are Abe Lincoln but didn’t he have really bad eyesight?) or to notify your peeps that the British are coming (unless you are Paul Revere). No, this baby was made for one thing only. To look SAH-OOPer cute sitting on a porch table on a summer night.

So then I needed a porch table. Enter, Ikea.

And you can’t light a tea light lamp without tea lights. Oh, Ikea sells a package of 1,000 tea lights for a dollar? Whooooosh! (That’s the sound of me rapidly pulling things off the shelves at the height of my impulsiveness)

And that is the story of how this perfect dinner on a perfect little table on a perfect summer night came to be.

The end.

2 thoughts on “One if by land..

  1. Micheal

    For me, I love the immediacy of inasagrtm and that reminds me of early blogging days. It is quite conversational too, which I enjoy. Blogging feels different now to me too. It is quieter. I miss the chatter. But I would miss not posting. I love it still. And I love visiting your blog and Lisa’s too. Perhaps blogging became too formulaic and polished or perhaps people found posting took too long? g xo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

