S’mores Whoopie Pies

As I was sitting here trying to figure out how to describe the most perfect whoopie pie invention and possibly the greatest thing I’ve ever made (more on that later), I was perusing through all my previous s’more posts. I started thinking about how I could take my s’more obsession to the next level (aka: the $$money making level$$) and thought, what if I started a s’mores-only bakery? S’mores cupcakes. S’mores whoopie pies. S’mores cookies. S’mores milkshakes.

I thought: I could even call it S’melanie!

S’melanie? Smellanie. WHY WOULD ANYONE GO TO A BAKERY WITH THE NAME SMELLY MELANIE???

And this is why I’ll stick to baking in my own kitchen. Though if you can think of a better name for my s’bakery, call me 😉

On to those whoopie pies..

The key to success with these guys is a simple  equation:

Spot-on graham cracker-flavored cakes + seven-minute marshmallow frosting + plain old Hershey’s chocolate + some time in the fridge = a s’more that has disguised itself as a whoopie pie

I almost didn’t want to reveal the filling secret in case S’melanie ever gets up and running…but I think we can agree chances are slim. So here we go.

First, make graham cracker whoopie cakes (recipe below). While they are cooling, make this seven-minute marshmallow frosting. Allow it to cool completely, and put it in one side of a pastry bag (or just use a large Ziploc with a corner cut off). Fill the other side of the bag with melted & cooled milk chocolate Hersey’s bars (3 or 4 should be plenty). When you squeeze the bag onto the whoopie cake you get this beautiful marshmallow-chocolate swirl.

AND THEN. Sandwich the pies. Stick them in the fridge over night (or for a few hours). Take them out of the fridge about 30 minutes before you want to serve/eat them.

Do you know what happens??

The chocolate hardens into a shell around the marshmallow, giving you the little bit of chocolate crunch you’re used to in a regular s’more, but without all the oozing/loss of marshmallow out the sides. Genius. Pers’mection. Gimme S’MORE!

Graham Cracker Whoopie Pie Cakes (adapted from Whoopie Pies by Sarah Billingsley and Amy Treadwell)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 cup brown sugar (you can use dark or light)
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups finely-ground graham cracker crumbs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons milk (I used soy)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Meanwhile, in a separate bowl, combine flour, graham cracker crumbs, baking powder, and salt.
  3. Add the eggs to the butter and sugar mixture; beat until combined.
  4. In a measuring cup, combine milk, baking soda, and vinegar.
  5. Add the milk mixture and the flour mixture to the butter and sugar (it might look a little chunky – don’t worry, this is normal!). Mix on low until just combined. Add the vanilla and beat on medium until completely combined, about 1-2 minutes.
  6. Drop one tablespoon of batter (try not to use any more – the cakes spread a lot while baking) onto prepared pan, about 2 inches apart.
  7. Bake for 10 minutes, until cakes just begin to brown. Remove from oven and allow to cool completely before filling.
14 thoughts on “S’mores Whoopie Pies

  1. Melisa Taylor

    Looks awesome! How well did the graham cracker taste come through? I want to make moon pies really bad, but cannot seem to find graham flour anywhere but online and am wondering if this will make it work.

    Reply
    1. melaniejanem Post author

      I’ve never actually used graham flour (mostly because I don’t know what it is)…I always just use graham cracker crumbs instead. In these, I think the crumbs+brown sugar combo makes the cake taste EXACTLY like a graham cracker!

      Reply
      1. Jessica Goodrich

        These look so yummy I love graham crackers and espically graham cracker crust in any pies. I have never seen it as a whoopie pie and I have never made Whoopie pies before but I am going to give it a shot can not wait to try them! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!!!!!!

  2. Lori Woody

    Just made these this morning for some dinner guests that are coming over tonight with their kids. Wow….they are amazing. Perfection! Especially after they come out of the freezer! That chocolate “crunch” you referred to is the cherry on the top to this recipe. Thanks for sharing! This will be a staple in my recipe box! All hail to the S’mores Whoopie Pie!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: s’mores ice cream « bitemythumb

  4. Pingback: S’mores Crispy Treats | The Sweet Life

  5. Pingback: S’mores Bites | The Sweet Life

  6. Pingback: Divine Cream Filled Whoopie Pies | Yummly

Leave a Reply

