Dark Chocolate Covered Caramel Pretzels

It seems like the past 50 times I’ve created something in my kitchen, it has become my new favorite thing I’ve ever made. You may call it self-obsessed, but I just call it Stage Five Baked Good Addiction. I love myself and I love myself.

Last night Mike and I had a lengthy conversation about my latest culinary creation and I ran out of words to describe the salty-sweet-crunchy-chewy-chocolately deliciosity and instead proclaimed the pretzels were so good I was going to die. But then I felt morbid so I proclaimed that the treats were so good that Mike was going to die. And then I felt like the worst girlfriend ever for telling my boyfriend he was going to die so instead we just agreed to learn CPR in the event that we consumed too many Favorite Things I’ve Ever Made. And then I looked around and realized my kitchen, camera, computer, phone, and life were covered in homemade caramel. The end.

The moral of the story is you HAVE TO make these. Right NOW.

I’ve even assembled a step-by-step tutorial for you, courtesy of my Instagram obsession:

Step one: Put a bunch (say, two cups?) of mini pretzels on a parchment-lined baking sheet or tray. I coated my parchment with a little cooking spray for extra-easy removal.

Step two: Make some caramel. I used Giada’s caramel recipe, but I think next time I will use Ina Garten’s. Either way, allow the caramel to cook until it reaches “soft ball” (aHEM) stage on a candy thermometer, or 240 degrees.

Step three: Allow the caramel to cool for 5-7 minutes, or until you can pour it over the pretzels without it running everywhere (something it took me a couple tries to learn, as evidenced below)

Step four: Put the pretzels+caramel in the freezer for 10 minutes to firm up. Meanwhile, melt two cups of semisweet chocolate chips (I also added a square of unsweetened chocolate to combat the sweetness of the caramel) in the microwave. Spread the melted chocolate over the pretzels and sprinkle with a little sea salt. Voila!

Step five: Do the world’s fastest workout to make up for the 7 billion calories you just consumed.

I double-dog-dare you to eat just one.

Leave a Reply

