Chicago Eating Tour: Vol. 3

I owe you a BIG apology for the delay in Chicago Eating Tour posts. I know you’ve all been hanging on my every unbelievable-food-describing word. School started up last week and then I was in NYC this weekend and THEN I went to the eye doctor’s and had my eyes dilated and couldn’t see and walked straight into a large group of tourists (sorry I’m not sorry). This relates to nothing and  I’m really just looking for an excuse to show you this picture and make you wonder if I might be part alien and/or werewolf.

Which I’m not, but thanks for the concern.

Let’s talk lunch.

When in Chicago, you must get a Chicago dog. And you MUST get said dog at Portillo’s with “the works”: mustard, relish, chopped fresh onions, sliced tomatoes, a pickle spear, and sport peppers on a poppy seed bun. Try to order it without any of these things and it’s like a scene out of a movie: the crowd goes silent, everybody stares, and the person behind the counter says “You want what??” and refuses to serve you. Trust me.

And, because I am Polish, it was a major requirement that I also get a Polish dog, which is basically the same as a Chicago dog but with kielbasa instead.

Nummers.

Mike and I had time for one final meal before flying back to Boston, and decided to stop at Grahamwich for a sandwich. I knew I had to go there based on the website alone. Seriously, check it out. Super cute.

Grahamwich has all kinds of awesome things on the menu, things that I am not cool enough to ever think of. Like the g’wich popcorn (topped with grated parmesan, chopped chives, sea salt, black pepper, and truffle oil) or the vanilla bean soft serve (which comes with warm nutella, caramelized banana, and marshmallow fluff). And don’t even get me started on the roasted banana and nutella croissant panini breakfast sandwich. Meow.

Mike and I opted to split the waldorf chicken salad sandwich, which had grapes, candied walnuts, crumbled gorgonzola, and shaved celery on multigrain bread, with a side of the g’wich “pickles” (various local veggies pickled right in the store). It was just enough food to make up for the excessive eating from the previous days.

Grahamwich also makes their own soda. It was a cool place that has a little something for everyone – highly recommended!

Sidenote: Grahamwich is next door to Posh, an amazing home goods store that has zillions of vintage and European flea market finds – glasses and plates and maps and napkins galore. An added bonus!

One thought on “Chicago Eating Tour: Vol. 3

Leave a Reply

