Cinnamon Bun Pancakes

Anyone have a favorite mall snack?  Maybe it was Auntie Anne’s…or Villa Pizza…or Mrs. Field’s?

Mine was Cinnabon. During my middle school mall rat days me and my BFFs would hit the the mall armed with $42 of allowance money, denim purses, and LipSmackers pink lemonade lip balm.  We would beeline it to Limited Too, buy an overpriced & oversparkled t-shirt, and then prance around the mall giggling like the annoying preteen girls we were.  Somehow I always made sure we made our way to Cinnabon.

I remember one of my friends would ask if I wanted to split a Cinnabon with her.  Ummm…hi. Hello.  Have you met me?  Do I seem like the type of gal who would willingly share her Cinnabon?  DO YOU REMEMBER HOW GOOD THEY SMELLED?

A few weeks ago when I was home I went to the mall…and Cinnabon was CLOSED.  Saddest news of my life.  So I created these cinnamon bun pancakes to commemorate the life (and smell) of my fave mall snack.  RIP.

Cinnamon Bun Pancakes

serves two

Pancakes (adapted from Recipe Girl)

  • 1/2 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon oil

Cinnamon Filling

  • 1/4 cup pecans or walnuts, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon

Icing

  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

  1. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  In a separate bowl, whisk milk, vanilla, egg, and oil. Gently stir the dry ingredients into the wet until just combined- batter will be slightly lumpy.
  2. In a medium bowl, combine nuts, melted butter, brown sugar, and cinnamon to make the filling. Set aside 2 tablespoons of filling to drizzle over pancakes after they’re done cooking.
  3. Coat a large nonstick pan and heat over medium.  Pour half the pancake batter onto heated pan; pour half the cinnamon filling onto the batter.  Allow to cook for 2-3 minutes, or until the sides start to look cooked.  Flip and cook for 2-3 more minutes, or until golden brown on both sides.  Don’t allow the pan to get too hot or the nuts in the filling will burn!  Repeat.
  4. Drizzle cooked pancakes with reserved filling.
  5. In a small bowl, whisk melted butter, confectioner’s sugar, milk, and vanilla.  Pour over warm pancakes, and serve.
5 thoughts on “Cinnamon Bun Pancakes

  1. Baking Serendipity

    I remember Lip Smackers mall days all too well. Remember not feeling guilty about the money you spent…because there was no mortgage or student loans? I sometimes want that back. Cinnamon roll pancakes…I think I want all the time. (Even though I still have a weakness for Auntie Anne’s.)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Maple Pecan Cinnamon Cupcakes | The Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

