Candy Cane Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oops, I did it again.

Seriously though, how many chocolate+peppermint things can one girl make?  I blame Wegmans’ bulk candy section.  Pre-crushed candy canes?  Sure, I’ll take 15 scoops.

Now I have a giant bag of candy cane pieces sitting in my cabinet just begging me to sprinkle them on any (and every) thing.

I threw some peppermint bits into my standard chocolate chip cookie dough batter along with the last remnants of the candy cane Joe Joe’s and holy guacamole…these cookies are GOOOOD.  The candy cane melts into the dough and then hardens up as it cools, creating a crunchy (and pretty!) peppermint shell.

Use this chocolate chip cookie recipe (or your favorite) and add 1/2 cup candy cane bits, plus 1/4 cup for sprinkling on top.  Make sure you grease your cookie sheet, or better yet, use parchment paper.  Those melted candy canes can be sticky little suckers!

Now all we need is some snow!

4 thoughts on “Candy Cane Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Sarah Patten

    These. are. incredible. Since peppermint and chocolate is my favorite combo ever, I am at risk of becoming obese from your recent obsession with incorporating these ingredients into every baked good you make. Oh well. Worth it!

    Reply
  2. Sues

    These look perfect!!! And pre-crushed candy canes?!?! We just got a Wegman’s about 40 minutes away from me and I think I need to take a field trip just for those!! They’re building one down the street from me in 2012 and I cannot wait! From what I hear, it’s heaven.

    Reply
    1. melaniejanem Post author

      Are you talking about the Chestnut Hill one that’s opening in 2012? Or is it 2013? Either way I am D-Y-I-N-G over it. I can’t believe you haven’t been yet…go, go, GO!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

