Paris.

 

{photo source: Pinterest*}

A year ago, I posted about how much I wanted to plan a trip to Paris.  A few months later, I posted this SUPER cute photo of myself  along with my favorite mantra visualization is the key to success.

And my friends, visualization is, in fact, the key to success.  After a year of wishing, dreaming, hoping, and planning…it’s really happening.  One week from today Mike and I will be jetting off to the city of lights, the place of my dreams: PARIS, France!!!

{photo source: Stuck in Customs}

I can’t wait to stroll the tiny, winding streets in search of the perfect croissant.  Search for the best macarons, hot chocolate, and madeleines.  Watch the Eiffel Tower sparkle at dusk.  Get up early and see the sun rise over the city.  Take thousands of photos.  Use the one French phrase I have mastered: Je voudrais une crêpe Nutella.  Go to mass at Notre Dame.  Get lost wandering around the Marais.  Ponder the meaning of life over a bottle (or two) of red wine.  Eat.  Eat.  Take photos.  Eat.

{photo source: Pinterest*}

So, what can’t we miss??  Obviously our trip is planned mostly around food (macarons. madeleines. marshmallows. cheese. wine. baguettes. shall I go on?) with lots of wandering and a couple touristy stops.  If you have any suggestions/ thoughts, leave me a comment!  The Sweet Life will be on a temporary hiatus while I’m gone, but I plan to have MAJ trip recap posts when we return!!

What is your favorite thing about Paris?  Where should we go?  What else should we eat??

*I found both of these photos on Pinterest, but couldn’t find the original source.  If you know it, please let me know so I can give credit!

7 thoughts on “Paris.

  1. Adrienne

    I. LOVE. PARIS.

    If you like steak, Relais d’Entrecote is super fun. They don’t take reservations and all they serve is steak frites. You tell them how you want, they bring it to you. Then they refill your plate. My favorite restaurant in the world, potentially…

    You may already know, but Angelina has great hot chocolate and is super cute. Right near the Louvre.

    Mmmm I’m hungry just thinking about all this. Have so much fun!! Can’t wait to see pictures 🙂

    (Oh, also, David Lebovitz is an American cook dude living in Paris. He has an e-book all about the best bakeries, etc. in Paris! If you don’t have an iPad, you can still use it on a computer I think… his regular books are great too)

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      Yes!! I’m excited about the steak frites place! Sounds like a perfect dinner spot for us. I read The Sweet Life in Paris by Lebovitz and it is pretty much my Paris bible.

      Reply
  2. a. milewski

    Laduree for macarons – the best in the entire world. nothing compares to them… http://www.laduree.fr/en/maisons/paris

    PLEASE GO TO VERSAILLES – they have a laduree in the palace so you can walk around take beautiful pictures and pretend you are marie antionette while eating the most delicious macarons ever.

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      I am DYING for Laduree. It is going to be our very first stop the second we land!!! I went to Versailles in high school but I love the idea of eating macarons and pretending to be Marie Antoinette!

      Reply
  3. Danielle

    As I told you the other day, I lived in Paris for five months! You MUST go to L’as Du Falafel in the Marais for THE BEST FALAFELS IN THE ENTIRE WORLD. Laduree on the Champs-Elysee is obviously a given. There are a million cute cafes on Montmartre, I strongly suggest finding one with a band of cute little French men playing their cute little French instruments. And for the most gorgeous view of the Eiffel Tower get off the Metro at Trocadero (either the 3 or 9 train, I can’t remember..it’s been two years), sit, admire, repeat. When it gets dark out there’s a light show at the Eiffel Tower every hour on the hour. I’d recommend taking a boat tour down the Seine River at night also.

    Just a few little tid bits. If you get bored (HA! ..but lets just pretend) Tweet me, and I can tell you about a million other great things you should do.

    Have an incredible trip! Can’t wait to see pictures!

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      Thank you for the tips!! We’ve been debating which time of day to do the boat tour down the Seine, and you’re the second person to say nighttime is best…so nighttime it is! Love the Trocadero tip…obv I’m always looking for the BEST view of the Eiffel Tower!!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

