Vanilla Bean Peanut Butter Macarons

 

When I make macarons it goes a little something like this:

!!!!PANICPANICPANICPANIC *peek in the oven* OMGdomymacaronshavefeet? *ban self from kitchen until bake time is over* PANICPANIC  PANIC PANIC PANICPANICPANIC!!!!

Really, it’s the worst.  I don’t know why I put myself through it.

But, in addition to my Parisian vanilla bean purchase, I also bought some almond flour at G. Detou.  Yes, I realize they sell almond flour in America, and yes, I realize it’s insane to lug a five-lb bag of almond flour all over Paris.  But I’ve got myself convinced that FRENCH almond flour will give me greater FRENCH macaron success.  It’s science?

In any event, I think all my Mike’s almond flour lugging in Paris did the trick, because yesterday I had macaron success #2!  They aren’t THE prettiest or most perfect macarons to ever grace my oven, but they suuuure do have feet.  And that is all I can ever really ask for, ya smell?

OH!  And since I’m officially o-v-e-r my vanilla/vanilla kick, I decided to fill these puppies with peanut butter buttercream. Mmmmm hmmmm.

Vanilla Bean Macarons (from I ❤ Macarons)

Ingredients

  • 2/3 cup (85 grams) ground almonds/almond flour
  • 1 1/2 cups (150 grams) powdered sugar
  • 3 large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 5 tablespoons (65 grams) sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract OR seeds from 1/2 vanilla bean

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees (the original recipe says 375 degrees, but I found that my macarons were overcooked and dry at that temperature). Line two large baking sheets with silpat or parchment paper.  Put the almond flour and powdered sugar through a sifter twice.  Set aside.
  2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the egg whites on high until they are foamy.  Gradually add the sugar and vanilla beans; continue to beat on high until egg whites are stiff, firm, and glossy.  The whites should stick to the beater in a big clump.
  3. Add half the sifted flour mixture to the egg whites.  Gently fold in until no flour is visible; add the rest of the flour mixture and mix carefully in a circular motion.
  4. When the flour has just been incorporated, spread the batter against the sides of the bowl, scrape from the bottom, and fold over; repeat 15 times.  Once the batter drips slowly off the spatula and moves like lava, you’re done.  DON’T OVERMIX – check the batter for consistency each time you fold.
  5. Put the batter into a pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch round tip.  Pipe the batter into 1-inch circles on the prepared baking sheets.  When you’re done piping, rap the baking sheets HARD against the counter 4 or 5 times.  This will help the batter spread slightly and allow any air bubbles to pop.
  6. Allow the batter to sit at room temperature for 20 minutes, or until a “crust” develops and the batter no longer sticks to your finger when you touch it lightly.
  7. Bake the macarons on the center rack of the oven for 15-18 minutes, rotating once halfway through.  Cool on a wire rack.  When completely cooled, gently peel the macarons from the baking sheet and match up like-sized macarons for filling.

Fill with a buttercream, jam, or ganache of your choice.  Personally, I’m partial to peanut butter 🙂

13 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Peanut Butter Macarons

  1. Baker Bettie

    These are gorgeous! I put myself through the same stress when making macaroons but for good reason. Mine have NEVER turned out right. I have read so many tutorials and followed them exactly and it just never works out. I guess I don’t have the touch.

    But these, my dear, are beautiful!

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      Keep trying!!! You can do it!! I volunteer as your official macaron cheerleader. You’re a GREAT baker, so you can definitely handle this! After 201247912 macaron attempts, I’ve decided that the trick is that it’s really hit or miss. Sometimes it magically works out, sometimes it doesn’t.

      Reply
  2. Anna {dear friend}

    I’ll take one of these for Saturday too.

    Hopefully there’ll be one left??

    Confession: I have never eaten a Macaron. Crazy I know, but where can you get them? I know of Laudree in NY, but is there anywhere in Boston? I’ve heard no. Which is why you MUST bring me one.

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      WHAT! I can’t even believe this. I’ll bring you one (though I can’t promise they’ll still be magnifique) and we’ll plan a date to LA Burdick in Harvard Square for some real macarons for you to try.

      Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      Just try it! Even the most seasoned macaron makers sometimes fail, so you can’t feel too bad about it! It’s all about the mixing – don’t overmix and it should work out just fine. Good luck!!

      Reply
  3. Baking Serendipity

    These look perfect…seriously I never would have guessed there was panic involved. (That’s totally the way I’d be if I worked up the courage to make these, ps). I love,love,love the peanut butter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

