Baked Confetti Donuts

WHY hasn’t anyone called me out on the fact that it’s been MONTHS since I’ve posted anything involving sprinkles????

For a self-proclaimed sprinkle queen, this is nothing short of TRAGIC. So I’ve created a baked good that will allow me to shove maximum rainbow-sprinkle-goodness into your face. You. are. welcome.

As an aside, can someone help me figure out a better way to express my excitement than to type in ALL CAPS, ALL THE TIME? I really don’t know how else to show my enthusiasm. For example: “rainbow sprinkles” in no way highlights their awesomeness in the same way “RAINBOW SPRINKLES”, or better yet, “RAINBOW.SPRINKLES.” does. Amiright??

Exhibit B: french bulldog vs. FRENCH BULLDOG!

Exhibit C: ohmygod vs. OH.EM.GEE.

I am the most annoying person ever.

Let’s get back to baking donuts.

These donuts would be really great for a celebration, like, say for instance if your boyfriend happened to graduate from law school and become employed (praise Jesus) all in the same week. Or if it’s nearly the end of the school year and you get to have a small break from small children (or a large break from large children, or no break at all but at least it’s summertime!). Or if your roommate went on vaca to Costa Rica and found a Costa Rican boyfriend and then saw him on the Real Housewives of OC this week.

All celebration-worthy, all appropriate confetti donut occasions. Bake donuts and put rainbow sprinkles in {on, around} them and let’s call it a party!

PS: This donut batter tastes 97% like Funfetti cake batter and NO I did not eat 4 spoonfuls of it! With extra sprinkles! Stop asking!

Baked Confetti Donutsย (slightly adapted from Iowa Girl Eats)

yield: 6 donuts

Ingredients

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • pinch of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 6 tablespoons buttermilk*
  • 1 egg
  • 1 ย teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted and cooled
  • 1/4 cup rainbow jimmies plus more for decorating

*I only had soy milk on hand so that’s what I used and the donuts came out fine, but I think they would have been fluffier if I had used buttermilk.

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Coat a donut pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt. Pour in the buttermilk, egg, vanilla, melted butter, and sprinkles. Stir until combined but do not overmix!
  3. Divide the batter evenly among the donut wells. It’s easier to pipe the batter using a ziploc bag, but I got lazy and just dolloped it in with a spoon. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the donuts spring back to the touch. Allow to cool in the pan for a few minutes before turning them onto a wire rack to cool completely. Top with vanilla glaze (below) and rainbow sprinkles.

Vanilla Glaze

In a small bowl, combine 1/2 cup powdered sugar with 1/2 teaspoon vanilla and 1-2 tablespoons milk. Stir until smooth and then dip the cooled donuts in!

16 thoughts on “Baked Confetti Donuts

  1. ringfingertanline

    what beautiful little pillows of fluff and rainbows. i’d love to stuff one in my face. as for the enthusiasm, i prefer an understated and dramatic form of highlighting my love for baked goods. or using curse words.

    examples:

    “these donuts are special. not just because they are donuts and they give you a socially acceptable reason to eat cake for breakfast, but because they hold in them the key to my every joy and happiness.

    ….rainbow sprinkles.”

    “i love to eat donuts and i love these even more than the average donut. why, you ask?

    three words:
    rainbow. fucking. sprinkles.”

    Reply
  2. Anna {dear friend}

    Best post EVERRRRR.

    No but seriously. Really, it is. Makes me feel like I need you back in my life ASAP.

    My mind is reeling about making these this weekend. JUST for MYSELF.

    Everyone’s going to be out of town but little ‘ol me.

    They look deviiiiiiiiine.

    The end.

    Reply
  3. Michelle Philippi

    I love your writing. You are not annoying – you are a joy. And your pictures and baking are delightful. Did the cuppies with the Ores in the bottom this past weekend – the kids loved them. I didn’t do the PB cup because it just seemed over the top to me…not that I wouldn’t eat them, more that my kids would want them all the time for forever.

    I think you should always type *….r.a.i.n.b.o.w…s.p.r.i.n.k.l.e.s….* like this. It’s cute and fun. Kind of a pain to type but you can do the ol’ copy and paste or something.

    Donuts. This weekend. On it.

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      I made the cupcakes with just oreos on the bottom with my class this week as well – what a hit!!! 98% as delicious as with the PB cup inside. l.o.v.e. the idea ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. Cupcake Crusader

    I need to buy a doughnut pan ASAP. These look amazing! Oh, and I think using about 8 exclamation points after “sprinkles” would easily convey your excitement over them. Even if “sprinkles” doesn’t come at the end of a sentence. ๐Ÿ˜‰ (This is also coming from the blogger who has had to seriously cut down on the amount of exclamation points used in her own writing. I dig them.)

    Reply
    1. The Sweet Life Post author

      Exclamation points are life. Though I always seem to find myself deleting at least 8 after realizing I look like a teenager writing in her diary. Caps lock and exclamation points all in moderation.

      Reply
  5. Clair

    Your life sounds like THE.BEST right now. I cannot believe all of those stories are true, except that I can.

    Congrats to Mikey!!

    Reply
  6. Meg

    Hahahaha Love this post!! I need to read your blog more often! You are hilarious and I love your writing!!! I hope Anna has some of those waiting for me on Sunday night! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. Pingback: Saturday recipe round-up, week 8 | Bakers Anonymous

Leave a Reply

