Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

Not sure about your neck of the woods, but here in Boston it’s been REALLY FREAKING HOT for quite some time now. So hot that I’ve been avoiding my kitchen like the plague. So hot that I’ve spent the past seventeen days within three feet of my air conditioner. Any farther and I MIGHT DIE.

This is not an exaggeration. (Yes it is). My apartment is near 150 degrees. (Give or take). I can’t even sit on the couch for a full episode of The Kardashians without turning into a sweat monster. (True).

So the thought of turning on my oven? No thaaaaaank you. BUT, it’s about time I posted a baked good recipe before you all delete The Sweet Life Popsicle Blog from your Google Reader.

Baking this zucchini bread looked a little something like this:

Grate the zucchini. Break a sweat. Run to bedroom for 5 minute air-conditioned oasis.

Return to kitchen. Measure flour. Break a sweat. Run to AC oasis.

Return to kitchen. Open chocolate chip bag to find that all the chips have melted together into a chocolately mass. Eat said mass. Run to AC oasis.

Return to kitchen. Crack an egg. Break a sweat. Watch an episode of Grey’s in the – you guessed it! – air conditioned oasis.

You get the picture. All for you, people, all for you.

This bread is light and fluffy and oozing with chocolate and if you weren’t looking you *might* even think that you’re eating a brownie. Not that I would EVER mistake ANYTHING but a brownie for a brownie, but the point I’m trying to make is that this bread* is goo-ooo-ooood even though I secretly halved the amount of sugar. Ballllllin’!

Make it.

Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread (adapted from Taste of Home’s Chocolate Zucchini Bread)

yield: one loaf

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/8 cup milk (next time I’m going to try subbing greek yogurt)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 cup shredded zucchini
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
Directions
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Coat an 8×4-inch loaf pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a large bowl or the bowl of a stand mixer, beat brown sugar, oil, egg, milk, and vanilla on medium until fully combined. Add flour, cocoa powder, salt, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon; mix on low until it just starts to come together. Fold in the zucchini and chocolate chips.
  3. Bake for 50-55 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Allow to cool on a wire rack for 30 minutes before removing from loaf pan. Cool completely, then slice and serve!

*Let’s get real. By bread I mean loaf-sized cake.

14 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Zucchini Bread

  1. Clair

    You’re so funny.

    Our apartment is the same. And it’s worse if the oven goes on…I swear it takes things up by 10 degrees after we turn it on.

    Reply
  2. Katie

    You described my cooking schedule perfectly. It’s been SO hot here, and I can tell my blogging is suffering a bit because I just can’t make myself stay in the kitchen for long enough. This bread might be the thing I need to get into the kitchen again.

    Reply
  3. poorauntedna

    Ok I’m making this today ! That is if I can plow through the hail. Thats right hail !!! It was finally 81 yesterday (We broke the 80 barrier) is this summer I asked myself yesterday? Haven’t seen summer yet. Seattle area is averaging the middle 60’s this year. Well that wonderful 82-83 degree day was just a rumor. It thunderstormed and rained and yes it HAILED !! Dime sized hail fell early this morning at 1:00 am. So yes it is a balmy 68 as I write this. I will be turning on my oven and baking this bread to warm up. I will think of all of you in the heat wave as I eat Chocolate Zucchini Bread dripping in butter with not 1 but 2 hot cups of tea. I do hope the rest of you can get a break this week from the heat, I do feel for you all. In the mean time Iwill go get a sweater on.. ugh.

    Reply
  4. Zucchini Me Crazy

    This was GOOD! I appreciate the love and sweat that went into making this. But seriously, you didn’t sweat in the batter or anything did you?

    Don’t answer that.

    Anywho, this was the perfect “I’ve just gotten punched by a scrawny 4 year old please god give me chocolate without totally trashing my diet” snack. Thank you.

    Reply
  5. Sarah

    This seems like the answer to my chocolate craving during my diet season. Be honest, can you really taste the zucchini in it? Just wondering šŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Suzie

    I made this (actually, I doubled all and made 2 loaves). This is fantastic! I had a piece this morning with cream cheese on it….YUM!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

