How to Survive a Snowstorm: A Step-by-Step Guide

DSC_1204I LOVE SNOW. Looove it. Can’t get enough. Should probably move to Antarctica.

Last year we got almost zero snow – which I’ve been crying about for the past 10 months –  so when the weatherpeeps at home started predicting a small snowstorm headed our way, I said “GLORY GLORY HALLELUJAH” and did a snow dance. However, in my old age I’ve started to realize that the rest of the world (or at least the rest of the people in my life) are not snow fans. Everyone else hears snow and they’re like, UUUUGH.

Luckily I have enough snow cheer to spread around all the land, so! I’ve put together this guide for all you snow-hatas to help you survive your next snow storm. In addition to following this guide to a T, I would also suggest a.) good snow boots b.) a gigantic fluffy down coat and c.) EXTRA warm mittens.

Step one: Grab the closest snow-naysayer and drag her outside. Make snow angels! Don’t throw a snowball.

PicMonkey CollageStep two: Go inside and warm up with a mug of hot cocoa and peppermint marshmallows (discovered at Target!!)

Step three: Encourage someone else do the shoveling.

Screen shot 2012-12-28 at 2.59.06 PM
Step four: 
Make homemade Ben&Jerry’s ice cream with your new ice cream maker. Chocolate peanut butter cookie dough should do the trick.

DSC_1222

Step five: Drag another snow-hata outside to make a snowman with you. When the snow is too fluffy to pack into a snowman, put a tiny snowball on top of a snow pile and call it a snowlady.

DSC_1226

DSC_1227

Step six: More hot cocoa. A good book. Bunny slippers. THE END.

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “How to Survive a Snowstorm: A Step-by-Step Guide

  1. littlecitybot

    heehee! where are you located? montreal got snow like crazy, i had to shovel a path to my door bc it was snowed in up to my waist! i had no gloves and no shovel (had to borrow a garden shovel from a neighbour)…

    love the pics. and peppermint marshmallows….yes!

    Reply
  2. bekastays

    I love this list! Solidarity, sister! I’ve been trying to talk all of the haters into joining my side, but I figure I’ll just demonstrate the joy that snow brings and maybe it’ll rub off on them 🙂 But seriously…when you live in a snow-town (childhood in upstate NY, 8 years in Rochester), just EMBRACE IT. It’s so much better than spending half of the year grumpy. Enjoy storm #2 tomorrow! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Melissa

    I’m from Alabama but live in NYC now, so I generally fall into the snow-hating camp. You do make a good argument for the white stuff though. It sounds a bit more bearable with all that hot chocolate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

