Homemade Oreos + Cake Batter Frosting

I may need an intervention. It has been roughly 5 days since I was introduced into the blog How Sweet It Is – a world of cake batter goodness – and subsequently 5 days of cake batter flavored EVERYTHING. My funfetti cake mix is dwindling by the hour. Help. Help. Help!

My latest creation? Homemade oreos (à la Flour) with a cake batter cream filling. Hi.

The sprinkles were probably overkill. But since when has that stopped me?

Now I have a vat of this sitting in my fridge. Because it would be beyond tragic to throw away CAKE BATTER FROSTING.

I know you want this recipe.

Cake Batter Buttercream

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 – 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup boxed cake mix (Funfetti is obv best)

1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Beat butter until light and fluffy. Add powdered sugar a 1/2 cup at a time, then cake mix and vanilla. Beat on medium high for 3-4 minutes. Spread a tablespoon on each cookie and sandwich.

3 thoughts on “Homemade Oreos + Cake Batter Frosting

  1. Pingback: Vegan Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes | The Sweet Life

  2. Pingback: Lemon Cupcakes with Strawberry Cake Batter Buttercream | The Baking Robot

Leave a comment